Ned! Ryerson! (He did the whistling belly-button trick in high school)

Ned is the insurance salesman who accosts Bill Murray in Groundhog Day. And since this winter (in the Northeast) has felt a lot like Groundhog Day. . . . .

First, clips from all Ned’s scenes in the movie:

Next, from an article he wrote about how the movie changed his life . . .

I was in the Bahamas shooting another movie for Disney, ‘My Father the Hero.’ A family got on the elevator. The husband did a double take when he saw me and asked what I was doing here. I said, “Working.” He said, “You’re kidding — you guys have gone international?” I said, “We go where they tell us to go.” He was very impressed. Then he started asking questions about his policy. I got a little lost and apologized. I told him I wasn’t sure what he was talking about. He said, “You signed me to a big life insurance policy.” I said, “Not me.” He was certain. Finally his wife intervened and said, “No honey. This isn’t our real insurance man; he was the insurance man in that movie.” He stared at me for a long time and said, “You’re an actor?” I said, “Yes.” “But you played an insurance man in a movie?” Again I said, “Yes.” He was still unsure. “And you said, ‘Bing!’?” I nodded. He shook his head and said, “And you’re sure you didn’t sell me a life insurance policy?”

BING!

Leave a Reply

